International Subcommission on Jurassic Stratigraphy news

The new ISJS executive committee

Stephen Hesselbo, our current chair has agreed to continue to serve for a second term and was unanimously elected for the position. There were two nominations for Vice-Chair, Emanuela Mattioli and Grzegorz Pieńkowski. In result of election, the votes of the Voting Members of ISJS were evenly split between the two candidates. Therefore, with the agreement of the chair ICS, both candidates were appointed as co-vice chairs. It is not a precedence – both the Triassic and the Cretaceous sub commissions have co-vice chairs.

The ISJS executive committee consists of the chair and two vice chair and a secretary (Angela Coe) who is appointed by the chair. The executive will serve for 4 years from 2016.

Voting in the Kimmeridgian Working Group on GSSP proposal for the base of the Kimmeridgian Stage

The voting has been conducted from 28.04 to 26.06.2016, i.e. within the formal 60 days. 28 members sent in their votes; this being 28 votes of 39 members of the KWG which corresponds to 71.8% of the total number of the members of the group. The 71.8 % of delivered votes provides that a quorum of 60% necessary for approval the decision has been attained.

The results of the voting are as follows:

Yes: 26 votes (92.86%) Abstain: 1 vote (3.7%) No: 1 vote (3.7%).

According to results given above the Kimmeridgian Working Group has accepted the *Pictonia flodigarriensis* ammonite horizon as the lowest level of the Subboreal Baylei Zone in the Flodigarry section, Staffin Bay of Skye (northern Scotland) defining the Global Stratotype Section and Point for the base of the Kimmeridgian Stage.

Convenor of the KWG Andrzej Wierzbowski Warszawa 30th June, 2016